convictions

I have continued to think and pray about motherhood (as I am sure I will continue to all the time for MANY more years!) and seek what God wants for our day to day around the house. As I have been praying about how to teach my children godly character, how to walk with Jesus, and how to love others well, I have been convicted of something: LIVE IT. Not just to the person I meet on the street or in the grocery store, or to our friends . They are all easy to love, b/c you dont’ LIVE with them day in and day out. But how is my character for my husband and my children? They see EVERYthing in me. WHen I am tired, upset, feelings hurt, sick, whatever. Sometimes I feel like I have a “right” to get angry easily when the kids have been wearing on me with no break, when things are busy or stressful, or when I am just grumpy or tired. That is funny…God’s word says to be SLOW to anger. And, it also says in James 1:20 that the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God. Isn’t that what we are all striving for? and for our children? Being short-tempered with them doesn’t achieve it. How are my children going to learn to be patient with each other if I am not patient with them? How are they going to be slow to anger, if I am quick to snap? The person they see the most in this world is me, and I have been praying that God would change ME above everything else…He has his work cut out for him!

I LOVED a recent post from my sweet friend Kimberly. You need to read it, but it is basically about love and teaching our kids how to really love…making that the language in our home. The other morning we sat down to talk about the fruit of the spirit and then what love is Biblically. They all really go hand-in-hand. Love is patient. Patience is a fruit of the spirit. Love it kind. Kindness is a fruit of the spirit. and on and on…but one big one we have been talking about is not putting yourself above others. We have been fleshing out what that looks like with mom, dad, brother and sisters all in the house together. More than anything, I want our home to be a home of LOVE. After all, it is WHO God IS. (1 John 4:16)

You guys can pray for me…I have a lot of my old self to put off, and a lot of the new self to put on!

Published in: on January 23, 2009 at 9:15 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crenshawfamilyblog.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/convictions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Me too girl…I have thought about this a lot lately too. It’s so hard to live those things out day in and day out.


Leave a Reply

